Away - Version 1.0

Away - Version 1.0
Photo by Nick Page / Unsplash

I walked away from my mums house
I walked away from my biological father
I walked away from my heavenly father
I walked away from my Law degree
I walked away Christianity
I walked away from heteronormativty
I walked away from my husband
I walked away from everything I know
After no
My favourite word is goodbye

__

This poem is about me quitting. Quitting loads. Walking away from all the things that it feels like you're not allowed to walk away from. My relationship with my family, family values, sexuality and religion. Its very simple and to the point. Packs a punch those last two lines, whew. 
I want us to share our stories and realities. I want to know more about marginalised people so if any of my work is alienating or discriminatory, please let me know and the poem will be taken up a version with an explanation so we can all learn together. Love from a lover x